How to Work with Programmers

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Sailerius
Regular
Completed: Vacant Sky, The Vestibule, Ars Harmonia
Organization: Project BC

How to Work with Programmers

#1 Post by Sailerius »

I'm not sure what the exact breakdown of trades is here on Lemmasoft, but I'm willing to bet that most people here aren't programmers. Working in the industry and having a fair bit of experience as a game/VN programmer, I thought I'd write up an article on tips for artists/writers/other non-technical teammates on how to best work with programmers on game projects.

The original article is located here. I would paste the contents here, but it's pretty hard to follow without the original formatting.

I hope it's helpful! I'm also happy to answer any questions you might have.

Rozume
Veteran
Completed: Munster Academy, boy
Projects: Coming of Age VN
Organization: Cosmic Visual
IRC Nick: Rozume

Re: How to Work with Programmers

#2 Post by Rozume »

This is really an informative article! Thanks for sharing! If I end up not doing the programming myself, I'll most likely work with a programmer. So yeah, that is helpful. ^^

noeinan
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: Ren'Py QuickStart, Crimson Rue
Organization: Statistically Unlikely Games
Deviantart: noeinan
Github: noeinan

#3 Post by noeinan »

That is a great article, thanks for sharing! I can sympathize with a lot of what was written, although I'm primarily an artist, because I took a few years of programming while I was in college. Although I have forgotten a lot of the fine details and complexities of coding, I still remember a lot of the social consequences of working with code. (For example, all of my friends making degrading comments about programmers and then turning to me and saying "oh, not you, though.")