A crowdfunding campaign gone wrong...

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Helianthus
Regular
Completed: Being Beauteous, Ambre, HVNCML, Garden of Oblivion, Wounded by Words
Projects: Chronotopia, Khzi and the Cursed Stone
Organization: Träumendes Mädchen
Tumblr: TraumendesMadchen

A crowdfunding campaign gone wrong...

#1 Post by Helianthus »

I already posted in the Kickstarter topic to ask a question but I feel I should make my own to fully ask the developpers here for advice. To begin with, I want to thank all the kind persons that replied to me in the previous post I made (especially those like Sundownkid and Samu-kun that have experience dealing with Kickstarter). I’ve been pondering a lot about what everyone said and sadly I have to ask for help once again...

As I already said there, I’m an ordinary indie dev that got involved with a project with fellow devs from my country. We did an Indiegogo to sell goodies of our free VN in the biggest convention of our country. We were successful enough to meet our first strechgoal, which is cool, BUT the situation had quickly spiraled out of control =/.

I already explained that we received hurtful comments from fellow VN fans saying we were doing illegal stuffs and all (I studied law BTW so I know it isn’t true). And some of you told me I had to respond in a firm professional manner without feeding the trolls. I duly copied that and made a big update to clarify some stuffs. The thing is, even though we tried our very best to ignore these people, they continued to find new ways of mocking us and spoke to so many persons we know, we couldn’t overlook their actions.