Best dating sim archetype?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Cafechan
Regular
Completed: algormortis
Projects: The Duenkhy, Lights on Stillwater Hill

Best dating sim archetype?

#1 Post by Cafechan »

I hope this is the right place to post this! I've been thinking about this lately, and I'd like to hear it from both creators and consumers: what character archetype is your favorite in a dating sim?

For me as a writer, I really like writing a comedic/goofball character. Especially if the main character is a "straight man" to the comedic character's silliness. Banter is romantic, right?

As for playing actual games, I'm extremely drawn to bratty/mischievous types and flamboyant/charismatic types when it comes to boys, and I like shy girls who gradually grow more confident as the story goes on. I also have a general soft spot for characters who appear stoic, but secretly have a cute/silly/embarrassing side.
Edit: (I would also say I like older men, but this is almost non-existent in dating sims. /weeps)

I CAN like jerks with hearts of gold, but they have to be really well written, otherwise I'm left thinking, "Nah, you're still a jerk." LOL

How about you guys? What do you like to write and/or read?
Last edited by Cafechan on Fri May 23, 2014 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Broodelin
Regular
Completed: A Harder Battle
Projects: Too many to list

Re: Best dating sim archetype?

#2 Post by Broodelin »

I like obtainables/NPCs that already like the character but don't think they have a chance or are just too awkward, so they decide to just be kind and polite. (Mr. Digby from Regency Love and Taira Kenta from Tokimeki Girl's Side 3 are my husbandos~)

Just being courteous or friendly to poor Protag-kun/chan is big points in my book.