Novelty - My game maker

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Sin
Veteran

Novelty - My game maker

#1 Post by Sin »

PyTom found me and pointed me to this forum. Let me just introduce myself.

I'm 24 years old and I work as a game developer for a game company in south-east asia (although I'm european). Besides programming for a living I'm also somewhat of an hentai artist and about a year ago I decided to combine the two and create a hentai game.

Hentai aside, I have a way of overdoing things, so I decided to first make a game editor and then make a game with it. As I was doing research I found Ren'py, but other than that I couldn't find any other program that lets you create visual novels. That's when I started thinking about making an editor not just for myself, but for others as well.

It's not done yet, by far. It'll probably take a few more months to whip out a beta. But I thought it couldn't hurt to show you the progress I've made.

The name of the program is Novelty. You can find a video demonstration of it here:
http://www.delicious-art.com/novelty/preview1/

I'd be thrilled to hear what you guys have to think about it.

Ren

Re: Novelty - My game maker

#2 Post by Ren »

OH JOY OH JOY!Buddha listened to my prayers!!!I mean...the first time I ever read about Ren'Py I imagined something like this and when I tried it I was so confused!(this is not to say Ren'Py isn't simple, I just never ever did anything even slightly related to programming so until then I always thought every program had an interface like Photoshop...T_T<---stupid person with no talent for computers)
I also remember I tried a Japanese program to make visual novels even before that but your is much more intuitive and takes care of so many things in a seemingly pratical way.

Oh yeah, sorry for the weird post...

monele
Lemma-Class Veteran