Should I actually bother trying to make a VN?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Eight Rooks
Regular
Projects: Mirt (chapter one)
Tumblr: therookshavereturned
Deviantart: EightRooks

Should I actually bother trying to make a VN?

#1 Post by Eight Rooks »

(No, wait, hear me out. It's a serious question; I don't want people to tell me definitively Yes or No as much as I'm just curious what internet strangers think of my situation. If you're interested, keep going. If not and this is just tl;dr, no worries. And, uh, sorry if this is the wrong forum!)

I'm a writer, I guess? I've been working on various things on and off over the years, but it's only recently - since going back to university and finishing a Creative Writing course - I've come up with a bunch of short stories and and novellas that I'm actually happy with. They're far from perfect, obviously! But I think they're much, much better than anything else I've ever done. On the other hand I've not managed to do anything with them yet. None of them are long enough yet to make an individual book, and I haven't "finished" enough of them (proofread, got feedback etc.) to decide on a few to put into a collection. I thought of blogging some of them, on a Tumblr, say, under a Creative Commons license, but I still haven't got that going properly (I did make a start on it but I'm ill at the moment, haven't slept properly in a month, it's kinda hard to keep up any routine other than taking meds right now).