How do you guys format your planning?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
kaptainsark

How do you guys format your planning?

#1 Post by kaptainsark »

I'm just starting out with working on visual novels, and I'm somewhat baffled by how to format my story planning. I've been using a mind mapping program, but I'm curious what more experienced people use.

KuroOneHalf
Regular
Completed: Cuttlebone
Projects: Somewhere In The Shade
Deviantart: KuroOneHalf
itch: kuroonehalf

Re: How do you guys format your planning?

#2 Post by KuroOneHalf »

I've only got a game under my belt so I'm still a babby writer but I find that I quite like to build ideas in unorganized indented lists. Something like:

Code: Select all

- Idea A
    - Something expanding on idea A
    - Something else expanding on idea A
         - Something expanding on this expansion of idea A
- Idea B
    - Detail about idea B
- Idea C
And so on, and so forth. This works nicely for making characters, settings, scenes, et cetera. Then to transition this into an actual script I pick titles for the scenes, sort them, then expand on them as I feel like it. For example:

Code: Select all

# Arrival at the bus stop
[ script here ]
# sunscreen scene
[ script here ]
# perfume scene
[ script here ]
# transition to beach
[ script here ]
Makes it really easy to re-order, add or remove scenes, and just keeps things nicely divided and logical.
Last edited by KuroOneHalf on Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rozume
Veteran
Completed: Munster Academy, boy
Projects: Coming of Age VN
Organization: Cosmic Visual
IRC Nick: Rozume

#3 Post by Rozume »