O..MY..GOD...toomanyassets!

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
8bitRainbow

O..MY..GOD...toomanyassets!

#1 Post by 8bitRainbow »

I am overwhelmed. It's my first time creating any assets for my game.. and I thought it'd be hard. I want side images for my characters. I thought "how am I going to make enough for each character to give them a broad range of emotional expressions?"

With the help of ArtRage, layering and the lack of a discernible bedtime, in one night I'm up to about 98 different expressions for my MC.

I'm.. I just... I don't even have a good categorizing system. Eyes are in different states of open or shut, brows range from happy to evil, I have shouting mouths and kissy mouths and.. it all just got out of hand. x_x These are all with one hairstyle and no change of outfit. I think I need an intervention.

Has ANYONE experienced this particular problem? I know I could shave them down, pick between the p_cry_enraged and the p_cry_mademberrasseder because they look kind of similar.. but one is really angry and one is just dying of embarrassment while being slightly angry and HOW DO I CHOOSE?? Is having more than enough a good thing or will it be my death? Advice welcome!

n0tgin
Regular

Re: O..MY..GOD...toomanyassets!

#2 Post by n0tgin »

The odds are, unless you are doing hyper-realism, your audience won't notice minor changes in expressions, I say just cut it down into a handful.