Japanese voice actors / Seiyus

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
nash

Japanese voice actors / Seiyus

#1 Post by nash »

Hello dear LSF community and creators,

I have a question regarding voice actors for visual novels. Actually I'm interested in japanese voice actors and looking for some, but I don't know where I should start my research.

Unfortunately I can't speak or read japanese well (I'm a beginner) and now I find myself in a situation where it's kind of hard for a foreigner to looking for especially japanese voice actors. I'm afraid it will fail due to communication barriers, but I still want to try.

Therefore I want to ask if somone in the community here has already experience with japanese voice actors and can tell me where I can get in touch with some Seiyus. What would be great is when there are some indie voice actors or even seiyus from Doujin circles - but don't know if there are any in this niche at all.

I haven't made a final decision to really use japanese voices in my visual novel but I want to gather some information beforehand and then decide.

Looking forward to your help and great answers~

Nash
1 Litre of Tears

cecy
Projects: Repent & Resent
Tumblr: 1bithero
Deviantart: alsaiduq

Re: Japanese voice actors / Seiyus

#2 Post by cecy »

I genuinely don't see the point of adding Japanese voice acting to a game if you can't speak or read Japanese. Is the game in English? It would just be better to use the language your game is in to avoid communication issues, timezone problems, and just the general hassle of not speaking Japanese. Honestly, doesn't sound like a good idea.

nash

#3 Post by nash »