How to plan your game?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Aiyumi
Tumblr: daisyryan
Deviantart: daisyryan

How to plan your game?

#1 Post by Aiyumi »

For a long time now I have been wanting to create my own Otome game, and I wondered if I could get some advice from an experienced VN developer.

~ In what order should I design and plan my game? Could someone give me a realistic check list of things I'd need to do to develop a game?
~ I plan on writing the story myself, how should I write a story designed for a VN game with occasional multiple choices?
~ I am an artist, though I don't know how to vector. Are there vector artists on this forum who are willing to offer their skills for someone's game? Also someone who would be willing to create text boxes, buttons and UI? (not for free, of course)

I have been looking through the forum, but there's so much to think about that it's a little overwhelming and confusing.

Thanks!

Yomuchan
Regular
Projects: Codename: NSD!
Organization: Forkheads
IRC Nick: Yomu
Deviantart: Yomuchan
itch: yomuchan.itch.io

Re: How to plan your game?

#2 Post by Yomuchan »

Write the story well ahead before you actually start working on the game. This is what I learned when I found myself changing gameplay stuff right in the middle of coding it.

Will you be coding it in yourself as well?

Aiyumi

#3 Post by Aiyumi »

I have no programming knowledge what-so-ever! I have Tyrano Builder to use, though I may need to ask for help from a programmer if it comes to that. Otherwise i'll go as far as I can with the whole drag and drop system

andrewngn13
Regular
Projects: Recast

#4 Post by andrewngn13 »

I'm no pro, but here are my thoughts. If you haven't already, I recommend reading this fuwanovel thread.
http://forums.fuwanovel.net/topic/7981- ... ual-novel/