Creating A VN YOU want! (Questions/suggestions thread)

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
PencilSlothCreations
Regular
Projects: Datematsu (Short Osomatsu-san VN)
Organization: Pencil Sloth Creations
Tumblr: pencilslothcreations

Creating A VN YOU want! (Questions/suggestions thread)

#1 Post by PencilSlothCreations »

Hi there! Thank you for taking an interest in this post!
I'm a very new dev who has so many ideas in mind for many different Ren'Py games. However, I'm really unsure what I should start off with and what clichés I should probably avoid. I know there have been tons upon tons of different stories already created, so I wanted some feedback on what YOU guys want to see! So here are some questions for you:

What about VNs interests you? (Art, story, immersive ability)
What character tropes/stereotypes do you see too much of?
What character tropes/stereotypes do you not see enough of?
Do you prefer having a bisexual PC (Player character) over a heterosexual one?
Do you like being able to name the PC?
Would you like being able to give a bachelor/bachelorette a nickname?
Are you interested in cheat codes?
Do you like having a CG/Sprite gallery?
What setting type do you see too much of? (Fantasy, supernatural, etc.)
What setting type do you not see enough of?

You don't have to answer all of these questions! Just ones you're interested in answering is fine. :) If you have any other comments regarding things you'd like to see in a VN or have any statements that may help--please comment below! Thank you!

TheJerminator15
Regular
Completed: A Sedentary Fist
Projects: Manipulation, Switch Swap, Unnamed Project
itch: jamsandwich

Re: Creating A VN YOU want! (Questions/suggestions thread)

#2 Post by TheJerminator15 »