How does one usually work with a programmer?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
GeeSeki
Regular
Projects: A Town Uncovered
itch: geeseki

How does one usually work with a programmer?

#1 Post by GeeSeki »

So I am working on a game, a the moment its a one man team but I'm soon thinking of bringing on along a programmer to do the bulk if not all of the coding for the game. How does one usually work with them? Do I just give them all the files so that they can fix and add lines of code and when they're done, they send it back to me. Should I be paranoid about them stealing the game and claiming it as their own along with my art assets (which may be needed to properly test the game). Etc etc. I'm really new to all this obviously.

磯七ラスミ
Regular
Projects: If Facts Aren't Alibi | 盲点に日光 (Mōten ni Nikkō) | Nest, Treetop | Untail Wire Stretch

Re: How does one usually work with a programmer?

#2 Post by 磯七ラスミ »

I wouldn't hire a person that I don't trust.

If you are only two people, you should partition the project in two (or you can get a bigger share because is your idea).

As an advice, make sure individual work doesn't delay the other's. The more self-dependent, the faster things will be done (and neater).

For a VN, it looks easy. You give him/her the assets and overall instructions about how you expect thing to be done. Remember to keep enough space to both feel cozy and agreeing with respective roles in the team.

I'm a programmer myself, but an inexperienced programmer. I have a little understanding about teamwork, but I hope I can help with my thoughts.

RotGtIE
Veteran

#3 Post by RotGtIE »