Specifics about creating a team

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
marmerjen

Specifics about creating a team

#1 Post by marmerjen »

Hey,
I have been lurking on this forum for a while and am currently working on a game idea. I am now writing an outline for my game, however in order to make my game the highest quality possible I'm going to need a team. I do have a few questions about how this would work exactly.
1. First of, I'm a poor High school student so I'll be unable to pay the team, however since the game will be pretty big I want it to be commercial. So I was thinking of paying them with a kickstarter and the profits of the game. In order to do so I'll need something like a contract right? How would that go exactly, and how big should the percentage be on average?

2. When would it be a good idea to try and gather a team? At this moment I'm thinking of asking after I finished the outline, and after I finished writing at least the prologue. Is that a good time?

3. Because there are going to be minigames in my game I'm going to need a programmer. How exactly should I write the text so that it would be the most comfortable for the programmer?

4. Lastly, I've never worked in a team, and I would be the team leader. How should I make sure that everything is going to go smoothly? I was thinking of weekly updates. And how would I make sure the deadlines are comfortable enough for the other people in the team?

Thank you for reading this entire post! I'm hoping that if you know one or more answers to my questions you'll respond to me in this thread. Thanks in advance!

papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames

Re: Specifics about creating a team

#2 Post by papillon »