How many endings are enough?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
arty
Regular
Completed: White Monday
Projects: HATE is a 4 Letter Word
Organization: KATHARSIS ART
itch: artys-games

How many endings are enough?

#1 Post by arty »

Hi,

I was browsing through the finished games section just now and I noticed that most of the VNs there have .... many endings. I'm new to VNs (have only played a few) and I don't know what the "norm" is.

I am working on a pretty short VN, and even though it's still in the really early planning phase, I don't think I'll wind up making all too many endings. In fact my original idea was making it a KN, but I'd like to make it more interactive for the reader. And I guess that entails multiple endings, since I as a reader for example would feel fooled if my choices all lead to the same end result.

So my question is, how many endings are generally expected by readers? How does the number of characters factor into this? What if the cast is small and the game is not focused on dating? Will people be disappointed if there's just something like: Good Ending, Neutral Ending, Bad Ending?

Cheers!

Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
itch: Imperf3kt

Re: How many endings are enough?

#2 Post by Imperf3kt »

Too many endings (like 20) is not good. It is only going to confuse your reader or annoy them (in my experience)

In my opinion, one ending per LI for Otome style games is usually enough and for other genres, usually stick to no more than 6.

Nobody likes verbose fluff for the sake of fluff.
Warning: May contain trace amounts of gratuitous plot.
pro·gram·mer (noun) An organism capable of converting caffeine into code.

Current project: GGD Mentor

Twitter

Mammon
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Pervert&Yandere, Stalker&Yandere
Projects: Roses Of The Thorn Prince

#3 Post by Mammon »