GUI Layout critique/advice?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
KarmaLarma
Projects: Deadly Vice
Tumblr: karmalarma
Deviantart: karmalarma
itch: karmalarma

GUI Layout critique/advice?

#1 Post by KarmaLarma »

So to start off with some context, I'm rather new to UI design. I've made a couple of very small VNs before (both in TyranoBuilder) and didn't bother with customizing that aspect since both games were just to practice what a visual novel actually is. I've been working on my first larger project for a little while now. And the other day I saw the Visual;Conference video on the important of UI Design (which you can find here if you wanna hear some interesting discussion on that sort of thing). The idea of bringing interesting elements directly into the main UI rather than hiding stat bars in a separate menu like I was planning to do caught my interest so I figured I should design the UI sooner rather than later to plan around it.

I knew I wanted my protagonist to have a side image since he doesn't have a full sprite.
I knew I wanted to implement the 'personality quirk' sliders into the main view so that when the player makes a decision that affects them, they can watch and see it happen.
And I knew I wanted the buttons to look a little quirky since I have trouble doing plain text buttons without making them look totally sterile and bland.

So I sketched up my ideas (using sketches I already had of some of the characters to get a better idea of how it worked together)

Then I designed my box and added it in

But I realized there was something I totally didn't account for. Whenever Harvey isn't there, the Quirks box makes it look totally imbalanced.

I find side portraits for visible characters to be very redundant so I don't want to add that. So I thought I'd ask on here.