Choosing Colors for Coloring Sprites

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
dstarsboy
Veteran

Choosing Colors for Coloring Sprites

#1 Post by dstarsboy »

Hey guys,

I'm new to working on a VN and have been practicing coloring miscellaneous inked images and I'm running into two problems...

1) My colors look either too bright or too soft or too dark. If I want to color something pink, I am having a hell of a time finding the right pink to use.
2) My colors don't compliment one another. For example, a brown vest and a purple shirt, stuff like that that seems to be annoyingly out of place.

I guess my question is... is there's an online pastel pallet that I can quickly and easily choose complimentary colors from, as well as a good choice of colors suitable for character creation?

How do you guys go about choosing what colors to use and when?
Current Projects:
The Isle of St Marcus

papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames

Re: Choosing Colors for Coloring Sprites

#2 Post by papillon »

There are lots of websites that will generate sets of colors which are meant to look good together; one is
http://kuler.adobe.com/

dstarsboy
Veteran

#3 Post by dstarsboy »

I bookmarked that link, but it looks like that website is based on user submissions of what they think makes a good combination... which, if they're anything like me... could be completely wrong, LOL. However, I can see that these do look very good so I'm going to hang onto this. Thanks!
Current Projects:
The Isle of St Marcus

Mirena (lazy mode)

#4 Post by Mirena (lazy mode) »