Considering Live2D, questions...

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Chimaera9
Regular
Completed: Solar Echoes (Tabletop RPG)
Projects: The Star Legation (Scifi Visualnovel)

Considering Live2D, questions...

#1 Post by Chimaera9 »

Hello, I'm designing a visual novel and am planning a Kickstarter in the coming months. One of the stretch goals I've been considering is adding Live2D animation to the sprites, but I have no experience with it yet, beyond watching YouTube videos on its use. In order to reasonably project time and costs for this stretch goal, I was wondering if anyone could share their experience with Live2D?

Borisu

Re: Considering Live2D, questions...

#2 Post by Borisu »

Hello there
Certainly having your characters animated via live2D or whatever can add a lot to how much you'll be spending in art, it can make your project way eyecatchier.
For example, consider checking these visual novels, they use live2D in sightly different ways.
Maitetsu
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmBAGmUMAks
Crystalinne
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggHFtWDQsVM
Nekopara (doesnt use live2D, but E-mote which is pretty similar)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcgvNZXoU2E

Animating the characters doesnt really take that much time, as I see it the issue can be with two things:
1. The engine you'll be using to make your visual novel, it might not be as straightforward to use it with live2D, so you or your programmer might need to take a good look at it.