How do you plan out your Visual Novel?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Mikatiana

How do you plan out your Visual Novel?

#1 Post by Mikatiana »

Hello everyone, I am complete beginner to making visual novels but I would like to learn how to make one but I don't know how to begin doing it and planning it out.Do you have any suggestions on how to plan it and useful tools and knowledge that would help? Thanks a lot!

parttimestorier
Veteran
Completed: No Other Medicine, Well Met By Moonlight, RE:BURN, The Light at the End of the Ocean, Take A Hike!, Wizard School Woes
Projects: Seeds of Dreams
itch: janetitor

Re: How do you plan out your Visual Novel?

#2 Post by parttimestorier »

If you want to learn how to use RenPy for your programming, you could start by reading the Quickstart part of the online documentation. That explains the basics. If you have questions that it doesn't answer, you could search through the rest of the documentation on the website or ask in the RenPy Questions and Announcements section. If you're also asking about planning out a branching story, you could look through some other threads around here where people have discussed that before, like this one. But if you're just getting started out and you don't have any programming experience, it might be better to start with a really simple short story that doesn't get too complicated with its routes and options. I also recommend checking out the Creative Commons section to find some nice art assets you could use for free when you're starting out.
ImageImageImage

Mikatiana

#3 Post by Mikatiana »