Minimizing Project Length

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

Minimizing Project Length

#1 Post by Fisseha »

I like to work on multiple projects, especially if I already have experience with it.

But for visual novels, it's a whole new world for me.
As a beginner, I want to start with a small project, but I tend to make it much longer than intended, and this is not good. I've trimmed down stuff to make it shorter, but tomorrow I'll probably be having new ideas and be using them.

Please help me ;;
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

arty
Regular
Completed: White Monday
Projects: HATE is a 4 Letter Word
Organization: KATHARSIS ART
itch: artys-games

Re: Minimizing Project Length

#2 Post by arty »

Hey there!

I suppose the best advice I can give is ... write down exactly what you want to include in your game, and then call it a day. The rest is self-control! You'll have your plan, and you'll have to stick to it. For the additional ideas, you can make a second list and use them for potential future games. That way they won't be wasted, but you won't have to shoehorn them into your current project, either.

Cheers

Johan
Regular
Organization: DMEOW
itch: dmeow
Discord: Johan#7444

#3 Post by Johan »

I suppose the best advice I can give is ... write down exactly what you want to include in your game, and then call it a day. The rest is self-control! You'll have your plan, and you'll have to stick to it. For the additional ideas, you can make a second list and use them for potential future games. That way they won't be wasted, but you won't have to shoehorn them into your current project, either.
This is what I do! 😁😁