Advice on creating point and click VN with topbar user interface

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Starvy_Jedi

Advice on creating point and click VN with topbar user interface

#1 Post by Starvy_Jedi »

So here we are!
I'm an artist (2d) working on the CG of my first VN and in the whiletime I'm trying to build up a basic framework (point and click).
I have been struggling with Visual Novel Maker for some months now, but in the end looks like the program still has several bugs making impossible to me to correctly use hotspots like I want to do. I'm very frustrated right now.

Now I'm studying Renpy cause I'm pretty sure it CAN DO what I need.
I'm writing this post cause I would love some suggestions about how to face up to the framework.
If I'm writing stupid things, please forgive me cause I'm learning right now. :oops:

My purpose is to have a point and click framework, with a (almost) fixed user interface in the topbar area (to open the town map and to display the current location and the current money). Here it is an example:
room.jpg
If I'm not wrong, there are 2 ways to insert hotspots: imagemap and imagebuttons.
Again, if I'm not wrong, it looks like the imagebuttons are a better choice, in general, inside Renpy.
Is this correct?

In the cookbook I found a lot of very useful things, but I didn't succeed in finding anything about a user interface like that.
I wonder if there is any script or tutorial around which could help me.

Or a coder, willing to help me, but this depends on the cost of the job, cause I'm facing very hard times. :(

Thank you for reading this! :)

Starvy_Jedi

Re: Advice on creating point and click VN with topbar user interface

#2 Post by Starvy_Jedi »

Ops.
Sorry moderators I posted in the wrong section.
I suppose this had to be placed in Ren'Py Questions and Announcements ... sorry!