How (Not) To Make Money As a Solo Dev

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
YossarianIII
Veteran
Completed: Guns & Lovers; SRRT!; Kill Your Refrigerator; Banality Man; Beretta Mondatta
Projects: Solidarity Forever
Organization: KONOL Games

How (Not) To Make Money As a Solo Dev

#1 Post by YossarianIII »

Hey!

I'm a long-ish time solo dev who has mostly released free games but has also tried a couple of commercial projects.
I was thinking lately about what went right and what went wrong with my first commercial project, and I was wondering what others' experiences have been.

The TL;DR of that essay I link above is basically that traditional marketing techniques like press releases seemed to have little impact (at least if you're too small for larger publications/streamers to notice), but well-timed sales and a well-designed storefront can both be significant.

Based on my own admittedly limited experience, it seems like random interest spikes (i.e., a big streamer happens to find your game) are possible, maybe even probable if you keep at it long enough and keep releasing games -- but they're also not anything you have much control over. I also suspect the corresponding sales spike is smaller for narrative-driven games than it is for something more interactive, like Among Us, although I don't really have data to back that up.

What about everyone else? Have you had a similar experience or totally different? Anything you wish you knew starting out?

Image Image

Mutive
Veteran
Completed: Eidolon, Minion!, Love Furever, Epilogue

Re: How (Not) To Make Money As a Solo Dev

#2 Post by Mutive »

I'd agree with your belief that press releases seem to have little impact. Unless they somehow interest a reviewer enough to review the game, I don't think they do much.