Is it possible to create a VN game with high re-play value?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Sakura02
Regular
Projects: Ecchie Sketchy

Is it possible to create a VN game with high re-play value?

#1 Post by Sakura02 »

So I'm a newbie VN maker and I've been working on a story with a goal to make it have a high replay value. I mean I know there are only so many endings you might probably care to see in a story, and visual novels have their limitiations. However, I want your opinon on this.

Info about the game so far

It's school life fantasy type story. Might possibly be 15+ or 18+ rated game. Dating is one of the main parts in it, but I'm writing the story in such a way in which you can play through and ignore the 13+ possible bachelorette choices, and still have a good ending. Yes you heard me 13+ different characters to date O_O; kinda crazy right. It's suppose to be funny with some serious parts in it but not many.

I'm starting an pretty amibitious project for a newbie to renpy and even possibly trying to go for a renpy record ^_~ maybe, but I'll talk more about it in another post. Anyways here are some things I'm thinking may give it a high-replay value, but I want a second opinion to whether these things can work or if it's just my wishful thinking?

Things that might make it appealing to replay

- Many multiple endings to aim for (my goal is to have 20+ different endings). The endings aren't classified as really good or bad. Well maybe there are 2 horrible endings you can get.