A Short Ghost Story

Post demo and beta versions of your game here for testing.
Goblin Market

A Short Ghost Story

#1 Post by Goblin Market »

Title: The Witch's Scissors
Type: Short Story
Genre: Horror / Ghost Story
Read Time: About 5 to 10 minutes

Does anyone feel like testing out a short VN horror story? I think it's finished, but this is my first time using Ren'Py, so I'd like to make sure I didn't miss anything.

The Witch's Scissors is a ghost story adapted from a Webcomic I made a while ago. I made this version to learn how to use Ren'Py.

Hopefully the story doesn't start too abruptly. For the sake of timing, I wanted to keep the title page a few screens in, but if it's a problem I could move it to the opening menu instead.

I also wonder if the extra stuff at the end was worth including. I can see how it might be too much.

The story can't change at this point, but I'd appreciate any tips on improving the Ren'Py presentation and the way things are coded.

Thanks for looking!
Attachments
The.Witchs.Scissors-1.0-all.zip
all builds
(24.13 MiB) Downloaded 675 times
art sample
art sample

arachni42
Veteran
Organization: no, I'm pretty messy

Re: A Short Ghost Story

#2 Post by arachni42 »

I thought it was very cute. The art is very nice and overall I really enjoyed the presentation. I liked the use of scrolling, "tap" animations, and sound effects. The different angles and divided screens were used to great effect; it was visually interesting. I think the title screen is fine where it is.