Requiescence - Demo [Action/Romance/Fantasy][BxB]

Post demo and beta versions of your game here for testing.
Dovahkitteh
Veteran
Completed: YDD, RE, CoB, Req
Projects: Red Embrace: Hollywood, The Black Hand
Organization: Argent Games
Tumblr: argentgames
itch: argent-games

Requiescence - Demo [Action/Romance/Fantasy][BxB]

#1 Post by Dovahkitteh »

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie to making visual novels, but not new to playing them. I'm currently a university student studying game design, so I thought it would be a fun project to try making my own VN on the side.

Requiescence is my first VN project. It's intended to be action/adventure/romance themed. I'm hoping to accomplish 3 full routes (with good and bad endings) by the end of this year. Currently, there's just one guy working on the narrative - me - so editing and the like takes awhile.
Overview: Kymil is a young adventurer who's just arrived at the daunting threshold of a massive cathedral. At least, it seems like a cathedral, from the outside. When he ventures further, the seemingly-normal interior becomes an increasingly daunting network of hallways, caves, and fantastical, illusionary passages that challenge his perception of reality. Along the way, he meets several others who've ventured into the cathedral, each with their own story to tell.
Here is the current demo! >> [Windows Download] [Mac Download] <<

Some important notes:

- The art is NOT mine. The backgrounds are placeholder art that I took from DeviantArt. Its purpose is to help evoke the mood I'm trying to create, and was my inspiration in writing the original story. It will be replaced in the final product.

-On a similar notes, the sprites are not a final product either. They're placeholders that I made using a sprite maker.

-This demo is about 7.5k words, and I'm hoping to reach ~100k words in the finished VN.

-The game will not be commercial, more than likely.

What I'd really appreciate feedback on: