[Code] Ren'py Text Adventure

Post demo and beta versions of your game here for testing.
DaBackpack
Tumblr: dabackpack
Github: dabackpack

[Code] Ren'py Text Adventure

#1 Post by DaBackpack »

EDIT 10/28/2017: If you want to try the game, you will need to add this font to the "game" directory: http://ufonts.com/download/terminal/90245.html .

Hi all,

I am making a text-adventure game in Ren'py (you know, like ZORK) and wanted to share my code with everyone. I have thus open-sourced my Ren'py Text Adventure "engine" (if you can call it that) to help people that might one day want to do the same thing. I personally like this instead of using an actual text adventure engine because it still gives you Ren'py functionality and lets you mix in visual/sound elements fairly easily. The process for allowing the input -> output cycle is nontrivial so I see benefit to sharing this with everyone.

(I'm actually rather new to Ren'py so I can't guarantee I took the 'best path' to accomplish the goal, but it works and there's room for flexibility depending on your specific needs)

https://github.com/DaBackpack/Ren-py-Text-Adventure

My purpose for this is twofold:
1) To release the code I used for this task to the public, and
2) Demo an actual game I am making with this code.

I hope somebody out there is able to benefit from this :D
Or, at least, enjoy the demo!

(I hope this is in the right section! My game is a demo)

Last edited by DaBackpack on Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Karl_C
Veteran

Re: [Code] Ren'py Text Adventure

#2 Post by Karl_C »

Very interesting. Tanks for sharing the (very well documented) code.
DaBackpack wrote:I personally like this instead of using an actual text adventure engine because it still gives you Ren'py functionality and lets you mix in visual/sound elements fairly easily.
I guess with your engine it should be possible to code something like Code 7 with Ren'py?

Imperf3kt
Lemma-Class Veteran
itch: Imperf3kt