Pros and Cons of Poser

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
ThisIsNoName
Veteran

Pros and Cons of Poser

#1 Post by ThisIsNoName »

Hopefully this is in the right section (feel free to move it if it isn't).

I saw that at least a few people on the forum use Poser to generate their sprites, and I was thinking of maybe getting myself a copy. But considering that it's between 250 and 500 dollars, I really want to make sure that it's something that will actually help creating sprites (and possibly animations *crosses fingers*).

Right now I'm using Blender to create models, but eventually I get to the point where I have to rig it to actually make it look decent (who knew?). The main problem is that, especially since I'm fairly new to modeling, it takes forever to rig a model and then once I do, I realize that there is some small thing I want to change for the model, so I have to go to an older file that's still mirrored, fix it, import it into the file with the rig, etc. I also completely suck at animation, so it would be nice to work with software that's specifically meant for it.

Anyways, the main questions I wanted to ask are:
1. How easy is it to learn Poser? Does it have a steep learning, or can it be used pretty much out of the box.
2. Are there any features you couldn't live without? Are there any features you could?
3. Do you use Poser mainly for the content, or more for what the program can do?

If you don't feel comfortable answering part of the question, don't worry about it. Also, it would be nice to hear from both experienced users and those just getting used to the software, so feel free to answer even if you don't think you're experienced enough.

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

Re: Pros and Cons of Poser

#2 Post by fleet »

I use DAZ Studio 3D, so I can't answer any of your questions about Poser.
I wish you success.
Some of my visual novels are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. They are NSFW