Sprite emotions: open mouth and closed or just one state?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
MelodyKnighton
Regular
Projects: too many
Organization: Los Muertos Studios
Tumblr: MelodyKnighton

Sprite emotions: open mouth and closed or just one state?

#1 Post by MelodyKnighton »

So, while making the sprites for my game I've created 8 emotions with an open mouth and a closed mouth version for each. I didn't really think about it while making it, it seemed like the obvious thing to do, but now that I'm playing through a few visual novels, i'm not seeing many use both.

Am I doing more work (for myself and the programmer) than I should be? I don't mind, but the fact that I'm not seeing them used often makes me think I might be doing something wrong. Most have the characters speaking in the text box but the character on the screen has their mouth closed (with the exception of them shouting usually).

I'm not a programmer so I'm hesitant to create any extra work that doesn't need to be there. Would the added states be off putting to look at since it's not very common? Is it possible to fade between the two sprites on screen so the change appears more animated and natural? If so, would this be difficult for a programmer to do often?

Thanks in advance for any sort of feedback. I've only created the emotions for a couple sprites so far so it's not a huge waste on way or another if I need to rethink them.

Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: a battle engine

Re: Sprite emotions: open mouth and closed or just one state

#2 Post by Asceai »

I haven't seen this kind of thing before. Honestly I'd have to see it in a game before I'd be able to say how it looks - but I guess it's like animated mouth movements, except without the animation.

I don't think more expressiveness is a bad thing though.

Juneberry
Regular
Completed: One Leaf Clover
Projects: Deadly Heart

#3 Post by Juneberry »