Haven't Drawn In A While?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Rozume
Veteran
Completed: Munster Academy, boy
Projects: Coming of Age VN
Organization: Cosmic Visual
IRC Nick: Rozume

Haven't Drawn In A While?

#1 Post by Rozume »

Okay, so as the title says, I haven't drawn in a while. A long while. I used to draw everyday or nearly everyday, but that isn't the case anymore. I don't know if it's because I have an art block or because I have other things occupying my time but the fact is I'm not drawing or creating when, as an artist, I should.

Do you face this problem? What do you to get back into drawing? Also, how do you get into the habit of drawing everyday?

MaiMai
Yandere
Completed: [Phase Shift]
Projects: [ None ]
Organization: Paper Stars
Tumblr: maiscribbles
Deviantart: maiscribble

Re: Haven't Drawn In A While?

#2 Post by MaiMai »

I do this a lot, not drawing for some periods of time when I should be.

There's no real magic or profound answer to this question I think. You need to pick up a pen, pencil, whatever and just draw something again. You could try a different medium to get out of your funk, or try one of those random generators that give you a subject to draw.
Image COMMISSIONS AVAILABLE (check Tumblr sidebar)

LateWhiteRabbit
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: The Space Between

#3 Post by LateWhiteRabbit »

Starting is the hardest part. If I just START drawing, I find I'll draw for several hours. But if you are waiting for the mood to strike / procrastinating on-line / etc. you can easily spend a weekend or several days without drawing.

It might be as easy as just promising yourself that if you draw just 15 minutes a day, you'll let yourself stop and goof-off or play. Chances are you'll draw a lot longer than 15 minutes.

meiri
Regular
Projects: Tutor Tabitha, Movement
Organization: Blue Bottlecap Games

#4 Post by meiri »

I have this issue a lot.