My First Attempt at anime, how to make look older?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
jeshii
Regular

My First Attempt at anime, how to make look older?

#1 Post by jeshii »

Hi everyone,

So currently working on my first visual novel (at least trying to lol), and so far everything has been going smoothly until I hit this roadbump. I am creating an anime girl, but unfortunately she just looks too young and I cant pinpoint what exactly is causing this.
Untitled picture.png
I want her to look like in her early 20's, but I feel like she looks like in her early teens.

Its my first time attempting to do anything with anime, so bear with me if its an obvious fix lol Any advice or help with how to achieve making her look older?

MaiMai
Yandere
Completed: [Phase Shift]
Projects: [ None ]
Organization: Paper Stars
Tumblr: maiscribbles
Deviantart: maiscribble

Re: My First Attempt at anime, how to make look older?

#2 Post by MaiMai »

So right now, the character you've drawn here is more in the 12-16 year old range. Here's what's making her look young:

a) Slender body with not quite developed hips and bust.
b) Short height (there are short adults though, but it's prominent enough to mention here)
c) Large eyes that make her look more childish
d) Clothing; a character's clothing, regardless of gender is a very important way to establish their age and sense of taste/personality/and in this case, age. She's wearing a white and delicate looking sundress of a short length which makes her look fairly young.

I find that using the Anime Character Database is a good way to find anime characters that fit approximated features including age. You can input "Adult," "Female," and you'll get over 400 pages to compare and contrast (granted I personally don't think many of them are very good examples of well drawn young adults, but you can be the judge of that):

https://www.animecharactersdatabase.com ... therchar=0