Beginner's Tips for Making Sprites and Backgrounds?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Ethereal Grace

Beginner's Tips for Making Sprites and Backgrounds?

#1 Post by Ethereal Grace »

I'm a fairly experienced artist with physical mediums like pencil, pastels, paints, etc but I've only recently been able to think about creating digital art. I recently got a new PC and I am going to be getting a Wacom Bamboo tablet in the mail next week sometime. I also invested in Jot Dash stylus that feels more like the pens and pencils I'm used to.
I played around on Sketchbook for a bit and think I will be able to adapt well enough to it. GIMP was a bit more difficult but I can work on it. The interface was a tad confusing, I thought.
I've been researching sprite making and I know that I need a program that is capable of background transparency. Are there any art programs with a fairly simple interface that are great for making sprites as well as backgrounds? I can't spend a lot on a program since most of my savings went toward my PC and tablet.
Are there any in-depth tutorials you can recommend? What is the best way to implement layers? I will gratefully accept any tips you would care to share!
Making a visual novel has been a childhood dream of mine and I'm excited to make it a reality.
I have a WWFFY quiz series that has received some great feedback and I'm hoping to adapt it into a visual novel.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read this post! I greatly appreciate any and all help.

robovelociraptor
Regular
Deviantart: robovelociraptor

Re: Beginner's Tips for Making Sprites and Backgrounds?

#2 Post by robovelociraptor »