Tablet troubleshooting?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Evy
Regular
Projects: Meet Me At Sea, All That Glitters
Organization: Paper Parrot
Tumblr: clysmian
itch: clysmian

Tablet troubleshooting?

#1 Post by Evy »

AKA "You can't make art assets for your project if you can't draw"

I have no idea if this is the appropriate place for this, so let me know if it isn't. Or, you know, move it elsewhere, idk.

Last week I reformatted my computer (Windows 10, 64 bit) for a clean slate of my hard drive. I also finally replaced my tablet I had been using since 2008 (Wacom Bamboo Fun) with a Wacom Intuos Art. I've been using SAI for drawing since 2015 and have grown very accustomed to it.

The issue is that I'm having a very peculiar issue with the program and only in this program. I have to lift and reposition my hand when drawing, and before reformatting, I could just continue where I left off after resituating my hand. But now, the cursor jumps a few inches elsewhere on the screen, always in seemingly different locations.

The pressure and drift are fine. There's no cursor offset besides the above. There's no lag, shaking or anything.

I've set my tablet preferences to maximum mouse height (I use mouse mode) and it doesn't solve anything. I've tried removing my preferences and starting over. I disabled display scaling in the compatibility properties, and the tablet driver is a fresh install (from two days ago, in fact). I've looked high and low for solutions on Google, but I cannot, for the life of me, even find another person who has experienced the same issue. Wacom's troubleshooting documents only says not to place your tool (pen) on your tablet, which I haven't even been doing in the first place. I've posted on different forums about this too, but they all seem to be very inactive.

If anyone could lend me a hand I would be very appreciative T_T
Last edited by Evy on Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.