How do I give 3D effect on shirts?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Viniciuskk
Regular
Projects: Spring Breeze
Organization: Homeroom Interactive

How do I give 3D effect on shirts?

#1 Post by Viniciuskk »

Heya Lemma. I'm a newbie artist and I've had quite a lot of trouble giving a 3D effect on a female shirt.

This is what I have: https://puu.sh/uD5gS/67d65b98d8.png

I've been trying for hours to give that shirt some proper depth for her breasts, but nothing seems to fit well :/
Any tips? It has to look sorta loose.

indoneko
Miko-Class Veteran

Re: How do I give 3D effect on shirts?

#2 Post by indoneko »

Viniciuskk wrote:Heya Lemma. I'm a newbie artist and I've had quite a lot of trouble giving a 3D effect on a female shirt.

This is what I have: https://puu.sh/uD5gS/67d65b98d8.png

I've been trying for hours to give that shirt some proper depth for her breasts, but nothing seems to fit well :/
Any tips? It has to look sorta loose.
Breast shade shouldn't be shaped like that. It won't be a flat line, unless her chest is flat as board.
Take a soccer ball to a dark room, then light it up with a flash light mimicking the light source in your pic. You'll see a curved line there. Or better yet, take your mom/sister as a model.

You might also benefit from reading How To Draw Manga series, especially the ones about clothing and shading.
Attachments
disclaimer : this image is from HTDM : Dressing Your Character in Casual Wear
disclaimer : this image is from HTDM : Dressing Your Character in Casual Wear
My avatar is courtesy of Mellanthe

Viniciuskk
Regular

#3 Post by Viniciuskk »

I was trying to do something like this:

http://static.zerochan.net/Atelier.Soph ... 978811.jpg

The lines seem to make it look loose on her chest. On your example, it is tight on your character's skin (then it is loose below it, where lines appear), but I lack the experience to know where to draw the lines :S

indoneko
Miko-Class Veteran