Sprite sizing help? (Sorry if already answered or if it's in the wrong thread)

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Goldie28

Sprite sizing help? (Sorry if already answered or if it's in the wrong thread)

#1 Post by Goldie28 »

Hey guys.
I'm the sole artist and programmer for a non-commercial kinetic novel (storytelling novel) that me and some Japanese friends are planning to make.
Right now I finished one sprite but I'm not sure if I should start over and draw full bodies or just draw waist-ups? I'm not good with full bodies but I feel like it could be useful to make the characters look their ideal heights. Personally I want to stick to just waist-up drawings because I probably cannot draw full body sprites to save my life or this game.

my Ren.py game window size is 1280px x 720px and I use 720px high as the base for the sprites to draw their heights accordingly. But my problem is that we plan to include closeup sprites, so how would I draw the sprites at a detailed size and then resize it to 720px high? Would I have to double the height to 1440px and resize it to 720 for the non-closeup usage sprites?

Per K Grok
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: the Ghost Pilot, Sea of Lost Ships, Bubbles and the Pterodactyls, Defenders of Adacan Part 1-3, the Phantom Flyer
itch: per-k-grok

Re: Sprite sizing help? (Sorry if already answered or if it's in the wrong thread)

#2 Post by Per K Grok »

I am not sure if I have understood your question correctly.
If you are asking how to resize an image in-game, you can use 'zoom'.

If you have an image named Betty you can show Betty at half-size using this code.

Code: Select all

show Betty:
       zoom 0.5
And that question should probably have been asked in the Ren'Py Q and A forum. :)

Not sure if re-sizing in-game is better than having two different images for full body and half body. You might want to do a bit of testing before you commit to one solution.

Goldie28