CG Question

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

CG Question

#1 Post by Fisseha »

When should one make CGs?

I don't mean "when" in production, but when in the story should CGs be included?

Besides action scenes and kissing scenes, I mean.
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

Mammon
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Pervert&Yandere, Stalker&Yandere
Projects: Roses Of The Thorn Prince

Re: CG Question

#2 Post by Mammon »

As little as possible. CGs, and art in general, are a lot of work and easily underestimated by newcomers. I don't know how big you intend your game to be and how much assets you envision, but it's almost inevitable that the workload will be greater than anticipated.

I recommend: Write the story and see where your writing needs a CG. Try to avoid it as much as possible, if it can be shown by the sprites or described accurately then it shouldn't be a CG. If at all possible, don't have any CGs except for the ones which you deem aesthetically necessary like the kissing and fighting scenes. And make sure to minimise or simplify these; don't be afraid to make all the kissing scenes almost the same with the same MC but a different layer for each love interest, and try to minimise any action scene to just one CG if at all possible.

I say this assuming this will be your first project. The advice above I give to anyone who hasn't experienced the workload of a project and the making of a CG firsthand yet, and you shouldn't be at all pressured to make a lot of CGs for your project if it's your first. It doesn't have to be a masterpiece, just focus on releasing it. That's already a big achievement. Don't feel bad cutting corners and minimalising your workload.
ImageImageImage

Want some CC sprites?

mitoky
Veteran