Is it hard to distinguish if a character is a male or female in my art style? + Tips

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

Is it hard to distinguish if a character is a male or female in my art style? + Tips

#1 Post by Fisseha »

Wow, that's a long title, but here I go!

I have a lot of trouble in drawing males, and I'm worried that I make them too feminine. I tried to compare headshots, and I'm hella confused with my own drawing. But of course, I can't trust myself soooo here...

I really want some tips on how to make more masculine characters [not bara, probably around bishounen to ikemen range].
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

mitoky
Veteran
Projects: The Purring Demon's Love, circus eterie

Re: Is it hard to distinguish if a character is a male or female in my art style? + Tips

#2 Post by mitoky »

I personally think its very easy to diffrent. Your chin, eyes and eyelashes etc easily make it able to figure out that the bottom one is a male. So when i look at it, i think immediately "thats a girl" at the top one and "thats a guy" at the bottom one. Even without a comparance to the female character, the bottom one being a male is clear.
So i think you are fine owo)b
If any advice ( a small one), maybe you could add necklines for the male if you want?

Otherwise you dont have anything to worry about! And your art is pretty btw <3

puppetbomb
Regular
Tumblr: puppetbomb
itch: puppetbomb

Re: Is it hard to distinguish if a character is a male or female in my art style? + Tips

#3 Post by puppetbomb »

Hmmm.... I have a different opinion than mitoky, that the male sprite can be read as female. However, it stems more form the fact that both faces and eyes have a similar shape and that both expressions are pretty neutral.