Pain points of current VN engines? What makes an engine attractive to artists?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
IamJay

Pain points of current VN engines? What makes an engine attractive to artists?

#1 Post by IamJay » Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:13 pm

Hi,

I'm a programmer who is developing a custom engine that I plan to use to run my upcoming VN and/or dating sim projects.
I'm mostly new to VNs and the VN community.

Although I have my own vision of which features I would like to see implemented, I'm also curious what features/characteristics in my engine would allow me to attract artists to collaborate with me on creating games with this technology.

Are there any pain points that artists and creators in general face with current available platforms?
Would love to learn more about this subject.

Elsa Kisiel
Completed: Shieldlock Holmes
Projects: Home Spatial Home

Re: Pain points of current VN engines? What makes an engine attractive to artists?

#2 Post by Elsa Kisiel » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:18 am

Is that question aiming at game's programmer? Or at writer/visual artist/sound artist?
-- Take a cup of tea and let yourself be charmed by my drawings, comics, songs, video games, novels and goodies. Here, everything is bewitched and bewitching! https://www.artstation.com/elsakisiel --

IamJay

Re: Pain points of current VN engines? What makes an engine attractive to artists?

#3 Post by IamJay » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:12 pm

Could be for anyone, but the focus is what makes an engine good or bad regarding visuals/graphics.

fleet
Eileen-Class Veteran
Deviantart: fleetp

#4 Post by fleet » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:36 pm

I think I understand what you're asking. Your engine should be able to accommodate multiple video formats (for example wmv, mp4, avi,ogg).
All of my VNs are at http://wolflore.net
Some are at http://www.the-new-lagoon.com. NSFW