Black and white or go with flat colors?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
rainkaimaramon

Black and white or go with flat colors?

#1 Post by rainkaimaramon »

I am trying to figure out which version to go with the black and white or in colors. The black and white version https://sta.sh/044n2glwge3 , The colored version https://sta.sh/0x7chwvf8x8 .

(The bottom image of the first link is the style I decided to go with as digital is kind of hard for me to add in small details, even when I am going over my pencils).

isobellesophia
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: None
Projects: Maddox and Friends! (AI Teacher friend), Friendly Universities! (Soon)
Organization: Friendly Teachers series
Deviantart: SophBelle
itch: Child Creation

Re: Black and white or go with flat colors?

#2 Post by isobellesophia »

Im not good at giving feedback, but the color ones with shading is actually good, i mean... colors with shading is great than flat colors. The lighting needs more improvement and you can at least try improving shading for yourself. :)
I am a friendly user, please respect and have a good day.

rainkaimaramon

#3 Post by rainkaimaramon »

Thank you.

Any tips on shading?

SinaAzad
Veteran
IRC Nick: SinaAzad
Deviantart: sinaazad
Soundcloud: Sina_Azad

#4 Post by SinaAzad »

hmmm, I would go for the black and white work, with the coloured version, my eyes have a hard time focusing as they jump from a bright colour to another while with the black and white version there is no such problem.
also with the style you draw the ink version, it feels like it would work better, but there is also the question of your character design and your intended use.
with the ink version, you may want to add some shadow as well, which I'm sure you have already thought about!
I am very proud to be a part of this generous, nice and friendly community!
but please, don't go around telling people that their work is somehow off! thats not how critique works!