A conundrum of choice and theme

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Carassaurat
Veteran

A conundrum of choice and theme

#1 Post by Carassaurat »

Hey LSF,

Let's, for the sake of argument, say that I'm a writer. I start off with my theme, or moral of the story — this is the reason I'm writing my story in the first place, I've got a message to get across and I want to make the world a bit better. Then I move on and come up with an arc that demonstrates this idea of mine, there are enough ways of doing this.

Where do player choices come in?

If I tell the set-up for a joke and then give people the option of picking between two punch lines, that doesn't make it funny. Similarly, I'm intrigued by the idea of giving players choices in visual novels and how they can be used in inventive ways, but whenever I'm actually writing something and have a message that I want to communicate to an audience, I can't help but leave the branches out because there's this specific story that I need to tell.

It's easy to come up with choices when you start off with a premise, but (and I purposely avoiding debate over any 'right' way here) I write backwards, from the theme that I want to convey, and, well, I can't fit branching into that.

Sapphi
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: Boku no Taisetsu na Yumeko
Projects: Twelve, PAW ★ PRINTS
Organization: Kitsch-soft

Re: A conundrum of choice and theme

#2 Post by Sapphi »

Let's, for the sake of argument, say that I'm a writer. I start off with my theme, or moral of the story — this is the reason I'm writing my story in the first place, I've got a message to get across and I want to make the world a bit better. Then I move on and come up with an arc that demonstrates this idea of mine, there are enough ways of doing this.

They don't.

At least, not in a way that I have been able to make peace with myself, which is why all the meaningful stories I'm working on are Kinetic Novels. :)