Using real life cultures/locations is appropriation?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
rainbowcascade
Regular

Using real life cultures/locations is appropriation?

#1 Post by rainbowcascade »

How does an artist use the ideas/costumes/culture of another country and be respectful while avoiding cultural appropriation?

I think Avatar the Last Airbender is the best example of respectful use of other cultures since the characters are POC and the world was intricate and well established.

Here's the original link to tumblr on this discussion: http://peacefulfellatiocracy.tumblr.com ... ropriation

I ask this because I myself have a dilemma;
I want to set my story in Hong Kong but the problem is I have no knowledge of Cantonese or the general way of life/philosophies/infrastructure/architecture that the people take in and practice in Hong Kong. The best way to understand HK is to live there for a few years but I can't afford to travel. So I'm thinking of making my story set in a fictional place with its own fictional language but undeniably Hong Kong in feel.

I keep going back and forth on whether or not I should stick with real life HK or fictional fantasy HK.

When you succeed at using a RL setting
- Can be true to that place with structured rules that can guide the story.
- People who are a fan of that location or natives can really appreciate a story that follows true to the location.

When you fail at using a RL setting:
- if fiction does not match up with the real world, the results are going to be jarring, laughable, and disrespectful of real world cultures

Benefits of made up world:
- Can make up whatever based on rules/structure, more freedom to play with things

Cons of made up world:
- More work, have to make up shit tons of rules, have to recreate languages, have to make up cultures... hard work
Last edited by rainbowcascade on Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Asceai
Eileen-Class Veteran