Dialogues in VN

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
tigerrenko
Regular
Projects: Partisans
Organization: Red Viking
IRC Nick: tigerrenko
Deviantart: tigerrenko

Dialogues in VN

#1 Post by tigerrenko »

Hi,

Im a teacher of creative writing and published author of insignificant relevance. However, I decided to write this in order to help all those who write for VN. What made me write this post was cringeworthy dialogues I often encounter.

Dialogue is of the main tools of VN narration. There is big temptation to make dialogues real. It is supposed to make them authentic, believable and flowing. This method, sadly, makes very long, boring and uninformative text.

Dialogues are supposed to be realistic, not real. To give impression of real speech, not transcripts of real talk.

Why is that? Because VNs are art. Art-ificial. In drama, novel or any other writing, dialogues are part of art, part of invented story. Their goal is to let the characters speak, but as part of art piece dialogues have role of narration. They need to be part of the story, part of the story's dynamic. They need to be believable AND informative. They push the story forward. Real dialogues tend to be too long, filled with "static" and "noise". This imperative for dialogue to be both authentic AND artificial makes dialogue writing tough job indeed.

Next time you get desire to write pages and pages of dialogue for a single scene, think of the meaning you want to convey. Usually, this little effort can make your dialogues more compact while keeping the flow and natural tone. Beware of dialogues becoming a banter, becuase without clear idea what information a dialogue is passing on to reader, banter can kill a story, stunt it's growth and slow it's dynamic. You get "natural" talk but tradeoff is bad story, bad pacing, not much excitement for the player...

cheers
TR

Caveat Lector
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Colette and Becca