How do you Start out as a VN Writer/Programmer?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
greenace
Regular

How do you Start out as a VN Writer/Programmer?

#1 Post by greenace »

Hey all!
I'm really keen to start learning how to write and program my own visual novels using Ren'Py.
I'm totally new to programming and Ren'Py. I've been writing as a hobby for a few years now.

My question is, how should someone like me go about learning how to write and program a VN?
Would you suggest to focus writing a full story/script for the VN first before I start learning how to program in Ren'Py?
Or should I write the story/script and learn to program at the same time? Or something else entirely?

I have been trying to write and learn to use Ren'Py at the same time. But I find learning how to use the code distracting while I'm trying to write. So I'll end up either concentrating on the code or the writing. I can't seem to do both at the same time.

I also think the project I have in mind is going to be pretty big.
Should I practise by writing/programming some short VNs just to get in some experience?

What was your first experience like and what would you suggest to someone just starting out in both writing and programming VNs?

Thanks for stopping by~! ^w^

dreamy
Regular
Organization: Cloud9 Dreams
Tumblr: fey-en

Re: How do you Start out as a VN Writer/Programmer?

#2 Post by dreamy »

I'd suggest focusing on writing before you get into programming.