So, I want to write a VN... [Feedback welcome]

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Hoyuu
Regular

So, I want to write a VN... [Feedback welcome]

#1 Post by Hoyuu »

I've been toying with the ideia of writing a VN in english for some time, but I'm 100% self taught in english, so my confidence in it is not much.
Some people that I had conversations with, said that my english was alright, but writing a complete (short) history in a language that is not my native one certainly seemed like a challenge to me. I had to pause a lot of times because I couldn't think of the word to use, much more times than I do when I write in portuguese.
Here is a short excerpt that may or may not turn into a full story:
Not one of my brightest ideas
I was beginning to wonder if driving a car was something I should be doing with a bleeding stranger in the back seat and a migraine pounding behind my eyes.

It certainly didn't help that mister I-don't-feel-like-telling-my-name, or just "Mr. Stranger" for short, kept telling me how to drive my own damn car.

"Look, you should have taken that left turn", Mr. Stranger said, trying in vain to stop the bleeding with my handkerchief.

"This way is a shortcut", I replied, gritting my teeth.

I will not curse someone who was possibly bleeding to death, I thought, and kept repeating this mantra in my head.

The heavy rain was making things really difficult to see, but I lived in this city for 24 years, I knew these streets like the back of my hand.

I heard some restless noises coming from my back seat, and then, Mr. Stranger groaned. "Ugh, dying of blood loss is going to suck."

"Shut up, you're not dying." And that was a lie, probably. With the quantity of blood decorating my back seat, it was kinda surprising that he was still breathing. Of course, that didn't mean I had to accept it. "Corpses are not allowed in my car."