First time writing for static VN [feedback wanted]

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
laxa88
Tumblr: wyleong
Github: laxa88

First time writing for static VN [feedback wanted]

#1 Post by laxa88 »

Hi everyone, I started reading recently (beginning of this year), then slowly started VNs last month, and for the first time in my life, I've considered writing a VN. I've been an programmer/artist my whole life so I'm not good with words, but I hope it's not too late to start. Thank you in advance! :)

Note: Please excuse the bad Engrish in the dialogue -- I'm a Malaysian and I hope to portray characters' interaction as realistically as possible. In fact, I plan to have characters speak in multiple languages in one sitting, because that is how we Malaysians communicate IRL anyway.

Translations:
Hannah - Similar in tone to "I've got it already, jeez!"
Liao - A Chinese (not sure of its origin, but probably Mandarin) word, usually used at the end of the sentence to indicate "already"
Jie - Mandarin for sister (姐)
Kastam - Malay for "customs"
Yaloh - Similar in tone to "I know, right?"
Angmoh - Hokkien for "red hair", which is a (sometimes, but not always derogatory) slang we use to refer to Caucasians. We also sometimes use the more tame slang "mat salleh", but that is a Malay word that Chinese-speakers normally don't use.
Prologue scene

* Ring... Ring...
* Ring... Ring...

Ugh, I really need to change the ringtone soon. I reach for my phone, flip it face up, and punch the home button. The head splitting abomination ceases, but my ears continue ringing briefly. My mind awakens almost immediately. My eyes sparkle open.

"First day of school!"

I can't wait to enter the Science Stream. I'll be in the same class as Yun, finally! After 2 years of being in different classes... I can finally sit next to him again.

"Yen, faster wake up, okay? Mummy's going to work now."