Is learning Psychology necessary for basis of writing?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
zanearaki
Projects: A Story of Regaria
Tumblr: zanearaki

Is learning Psychology necessary for basis of writing?

#1 Post by zanearaki »

I'm new to VN world. Started playing it like back then in high school.. and now I have growing interest in making one. I don't really have a team yet, so I'm learning to write for a while. Even before knowing about VN, I already started writing because it's how I express myself, but VN seems to be a balance of technical and traditional aspect of writing that I worry my writing hasn't reach its level of standard VN yet. Off to the question... which are:

1. What are ways to design a character's trait? Should I learn about Psychology in order to understand human behavior and tendencies that often contain a person's personality?
2. And if Psychology can be a way to learn it, where or how should I start if I'm not coming from a Psychology background?
(Maybe like books, movies, websites, or VNs recommendation that tackle this subject.)
3. I've had this particular problem for a while. When I had a field trip to a mountain area with class, we were told by our
Literature teacher to write a story based on this mountain setting. I remembered how easy it was for me to find an idea and
write the story, and I didn't hesitate for a bit while writing and ending my story, it all felt so natural and one smooth process. But
that was the first and last time I've ever felt that way when writing. After that, it's hard for me to generate an idea for fiction
story.
Now I'm only writing my personal experience in my journal because lately that's the only thing I can do with joy and out of
burden.
Do you think that has to do with my inner stress? If I remember it right, I started to experience this writing block after I had to