Writing in a different language

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Banya
Regular
Completed: Deep Inside, KOI, ROAR, Dreamquartz, YOLO
Projects: Emerald Wasp
Deviantart: Banya-Laplace-Studio
itch: banya

Writing in a different language

#1 Post by Banya »

Probably I'm not the only one but... is anyone experimenting with writing in another language?
When I first tried to make a VN I used my motherlanguage, Italian, but since Italian audience is literally non-existent I thought I'd better write in English if I wish to have a chance of being read. The problem is... while in Italian I have very good writing skills, in English I'm an amateur and under any mothertongue speaker.
I'd like to decorate my VN with long narrative sections, but in English I still have problems in writing fluid ones and I end up writing lots of dialogue insteade. I wanted to ask some suggestions to improve descriptions in my story (other than "talk with English people"), if you can help me ;__;
I think writing mostly dialogue would be bad for a story, even if I'm conscious that my first attempts of making a VN won't certainly be masterpieces. Atm I'm doing a lot of practice and I hope to show soon some of my work.
Is there anyone else facing the same problem, too?

NialGrenville
Regular
Projects: PaS: The Awakening; The Heart Woods; The Witch and the Fairy
Organization: Gabe Works, Inc.

Re: Writing in a different language

#2 Post by NialGrenville »

Yes! I've been rewriting one of my old novels into German, while I've studied tons of it. I'm still missing a lot.

The best thing I do is have my dictionary, read it every day, and buy a book on grammatical structure. When I first learned German, I was taught under the grammatical basis of a grade school child. As we are taught usually. Even in English you learn new things every grade!