How to Create Compelling Antagonists/Villians in Otome Sims

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
JupiterMercury

How to Create Compelling Antagonists/Villians in Otome Sims

#1 Post by JupiterMercury »

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie at VNs and I wanted to make my own VN after seeing so many playthroughs of them Youtube. So I'm really new to the VN scene to be honest.
My question was how to make an antagonist necessary, meaningful and compelling in a dating sim?
What are some archetypes to draw inspiration for a villain for the Romance genre?

I've always been a fan of villains or morally grey characters from shows such as Breaking Bad, The Wire, and Game of Thrones. Though I'm wondering how to make antagonists on the level of those shows or beyond. Usually I don't see many villains in the Romance genre or I haven't seen enough unfortunately. Does anyone have any thoughts?

gekiganwing
Lemma-Class Veteran

Re: How to Create Compelling Antagonists/Villians in Otome Sims

#2 Post by gekiganwing »

JupiterMercury wrote: Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:29 am ...how to make an antagonist necessary, meaningful and compelling in a dating sim?
What are some archetypes to draw inspiration for a villain for the Romance genre?
Overall, I'd say "Think about why this character is an antagonist. Do they want to prevent a relationship? Do they want to defeat a group of heroes? What makes them compelling? What makes them believable?"

The first thing that comes to mind is Sweet Fuse, a romance visual novel which I read on PSP and Vita. Its antagonist is quite goofy in appearance, and has a comical laugh. Despite that, he sets up the story by taking hundreds of hostages and unleashing his minions. His intentions are serious -- he can kill the protagonist and her friends. I don't recall if he had a motivation.