Feedback on first chapter of visual novel

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
frylander
Regular

Feedback on first chapter of visual novel

#1 Post by frylander »

Hi there,

I've been wanting to share my stories for a while now. I've been trying different mediums, I even studied cinema and all, and recently got into drawing.

Problem is, I'm not really an expert on any of those subjects, so I would like to get some feedback before making more chapters of my story, so if I have to change something on my way of writing, I can do it now and not re-write it later.

So, what I would llike from you guys is mostly, to read my little intro and first chapter, and tell me if my writing gets in the way of the storytelling (ie: you get disctracted by errors, by the way I phrase the texts, etc) or if it is even good to begin with. Second I would like to know if the story and the way it's presented hooks you in and lets you wanting to know more. And third, if this were already a full work, would you keep reading after this first chapter?

Note: the character marked as "__" is a label for narration. Also some things like sound effect texts will be added later so there might be some missing.

Thank you so much for your time, I know it is something precious and I appreciate it.

That said, here's the intro:

Code: Select all

Man:(How many years have passed? 30? Maybe more.)
Man:(A life dedicated to revenge, coming to an end.)
Man:(In front of me in this dark night, the monster I swore to kill just walks in the rain.)
Man:(Unforgivable. The people she killed can't enjoy a walk in the rain anymore, so neither should she.)
Man:(One way or another, this ends tonight. If I die at the hands of the monster that killed my parents, at least I will join them in heaven with pride.)
Man:(One way or another, a soul will be claimed. This is my chance.)