Sharing my work

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Westeford
Regular
Completed: 12 Hours to Die
Projects: Project Premonition
itch: westeford

Sharing my work

#1 Post by Westeford »

I started looking over some of my older writing. (October 2017) Back then I wanted to write some kind of multi-path college-based dating sim with a very rich story. My main inspirations at the time were Higurashi and Metal Gear Solid. I stopped working on it due to losing passion for it and wanting to apply myself to something "simpler" and smaller to start with. That project I've been working on for 5 months now, and it's nearing completion. (I think).
But I remember this chapter the fondest. This was written as one of the endings. I felt compelled to share it. (The other endings I wrote just got sillier and less interesting, the second ending involved a girl making a gundam in the school basement.)
There are references to certain plot threads in this chapter, but I don't think much context is needed. (I barely remember half of the context anyway.) The most you need to know is that Bryce can see brief visions of the future and the chapter begins when a terrorist attack begins on a small island country.
It's kind of graphic so read at your own risk.
Chapter5a, Katrina.docx
(76.45 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
I'd love to hear what you guys think. Should I try salvaging this project? What kind of things did I do right and wrong? That kind of stuff.

Project_Astro
Projects: NeoLythe / Dark Investigations

Re: Sharing my work

#2 Post by Project_Astro »

I'm writing while I'm reading so I won't forgot anything:
For the moment I love it ! I think that if you've got the right sprites, backgrounds, musics, it can be really reaaally good !

When Katrina decides to go into the castle, you could (maybe you planned to do it ?) include a choice, for instance:
b "Wait... I won't let her... Like this..."
choice :
"Tell her to wait for you"