Writing an organized script

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

Writing an organized script

#1 Post by Fisseha »

Hi! It's been long since I've worked on my Visual Novel , and I finally made a decent(?) outline of my story :o

However, I'm having trouble in organizing it. Specifically, how am I going to translate it into an organized script, with branching, notes etc.

Do you have any methods of writing your scripts, or even small tips that help you organise it?
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

nerupuff
Veteran

Re: Writing an organized script

#2 Post by nerupuff »

Hi, Fisseha!

Congrats on finishing your story outline! A lot of people have different methods for organizing their script. I have my own way of doing it, but I feel it's far from ideal/perfect.

A lot of people use programs specifically catered to organizing your notes for the script. I have Scrivener, and it is quite useful, though I haven't explored it as much. I very much prefer using Twine as a tool to organize the branching dialogues and plot-lines that I have for my story, and I find that it is also pleasing to look at when it's done, especially since you can move things around and make it look easy on the eyes for tracking what items go where.

I also utilize Google Docs to write the script before I re-work it into RenPy coding. It also helps to place labels and comments on GDocs to remind you of this you have yet to add to your script. I make sure to indicate if I need to place any point system/default values using a comment so that I can keep track of stuff (especially if I have multiple routes that depend on the choices you make.