When to use more dialogue/narration?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

When to use more dialogue/narration?

#1 Post by Fisseha »

Hello!

I've been playing/watching a few visual novels I've found online, and in comparing them,
I've noticed that some use more dialogue, while others use more narration.

Now, I believe that both should be balanced, but when exactly should someone use either more?
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

Katy133
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: Eight Sweets, The Heart of Tales, [redacted] Life, Must Love Jaws, A Tune at the End of the World, Three Guys That Paint, The Journey of Ignorance, Portal 2.5.
Projects: The Butler Detective
Tumblr: katy-133
Deviantart: Katy133
Soundcloud: Katy133
itch: katy133

Re: When to use more dialogue/narration?

#2 Post by Katy133 »

Generally, visual novels have visuals that allow creators to use to help show what's happening (showing how a character feels, what the setting looks like, etc). Therefore, you will rely on dialogue a lot. Similar to, let's say, television.

But (unlike television) there's also the novel element to visual novels. They use text, which means that you can use text to express things that the visuals you're using can't. And example to that would be using metaphors and similes in your narration: In The Terror of St Trinians novel, the character Miss Fridge is given a "cold" motif throughout (she gives icy looks, she says dialogue coldy, she's compared to statues, etc).