Eliminating redundant/insignificant characters

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving game writing.
Fisseha
Projects: Fly Fly Fly, Grey Area, SICK, Raindrops, My Girlfriend Akane
Organization: Lonely Fish
Tumblr: PoissonMorts
Deviantart: MiyukiKudo(INACTIVE)
itch: FishPrincess

Eliminating redundant/insignificant characters

#1 Post by Fisseha »

Hello again!

I've talked to my sister about my story because she's my idea bouncer, and right now she thinks that I have too many characters.

I do not want to eliminate them, if I can merge them into a single character, I'd do it. But if I really need to remove them from the story, then so be it. but then there's the fear of changing the story again, even if it's a small part

But right now, I want to avoid creating too many characters in the near future.

Are there any 'guidelines' to follow when creating characters and minimizing their population?
I'm an artist, and probably a weaboo.

Bill_Ames

Re: Eliminating redundant/insignificant characters

#2 Post by Bill_Ames »

Some years ago I had a character and decided to write a story about the character. What I discovered was that as the story progressed I had a situation where I needed a character in a scene. So a new character was created. I did not add any characters randomly, I avoided that because it is not needed to tell the story. As time passed I developed, through commissions, a number of scenes, really like a storyboard. Because I was developing my characters as I went it was easier for me to know how they would react in a given circumstance. Adding a new character with no real personality was not fun, my story had to be fun (for me.)